First of all ... 
Well it has come to that time of year again where it is common place to reflect upon the events of last 12 months.  So here are my top three highlights  …. 

Christmas in the UK 2012

Ok so technically this was last year, but I am counting this one as my number one event from the past year (and a bit).  I had a wonderful Eastman – Manley family Christmas, with an open log fire, lots of laughter, lots of love and plenty of tipple.  Sadly this was to be the last Christmas that we were all fortunate enough to celebrate with my uncle, John Manley.  What more can be said than he is sorely missed and warmly remembered.  I don’t sway toward religious sentiment often, but in this instance I like to think that my Dad and John are knocking around somewhere together like they did in their younger years.  Not one to dwell on sadness here are the rest of my highlights from home….

·         That first, post 26 hour flight hug from Mum and the big sis, Nikki.

·         Watching Breaking Dawn (Part 2) with Carly Bean.

·         1920’s flapper NYE party with Bex.

·         Watching Breaking Dawn (Part 2) again but this time with Lozza.

·         Being seen off at the airport by Row and her two gorgeous little ladies, Maria and Isabelle. 
          Special highlight was dancing around the airport restaurant like a looney tune with Maria! 

·         Culinary highlights included Marmite on toast (the first thing I had to eat back on British soil)

·         Bacon and egg sandwich (the second thing I had to eat)

·         CHESTNUT STUFFING (and fighting my cousin Mark for it)

·         Having a proper curry and Chinese takeout

·         Consuming waaay too many Sainsburys melt in the middle chocolate puddings (salivating right now           thinking about those delicious little bits of  yumminess)

This is by no means an extensive list of all the wonderful things I did back home… but it’s a good start.

Living out my Cowgirl Dream at Colwell Station

I HATE the dentist.  It scares the be-jesus out of me.  The noise, the smell, the white overalls, the out of date magazines in the waiting room, that sucky thing that they jam around in your mouth … HATE HATE HATE it.  But the overwhelming fear I get before stepping into that sterile environment, paled in comparison to the absolute terror I had when I closed the door behind me at the wonderful apartment I resided at in Fitzroy, Melbourne.  (Which also came with the best house mate ever, Alex  … see later highlights).  I mean I was leaving my comfortable life of routine, my fab friends, Ben & Jerrys Cafe and mobile signal to go and live literally in the middle of outback Australia, with a man I had never met, his dogs and a whole heap of cows.  It would have been wrong not to be nervous really.  I pacified myself with the knowledge that I only needed to stick it out for 88 days in order to get my 2nd year visa...  Turned out it was more difficult to leave Colwell Station than it was to get there in the first place, much more difficult.   Credit for all the amazing experiences I had at Colwell go to Luke (aka the boss).  Highlights are too many to mention really and are pretty well documented in previous blog entries.  Instead I will just say a massive THANK YOU to Luke McNeven for making a lifelong dream a reality.

Wonderful People (and characterful animals)

I’ve come to a very significant realisation about my travelling experiences, which goes a little something like this...  I have been blessed to have seen some of the most beautiful and historically significant places in the world and although these are awe inspiring in themselves, for me their true beauty and significance lies not just in the place itself, but in the people who I was able to share their beauty with.  I guess this point is a bit of a cheat, as technically I am not just talking about 2013 highlights but I feel it is an important one to note. In order to keep it 2013 focused though here is a summary of just a few of the characters I have met this year …

·         Alex, the bestest housemate in the world.  Late night trips to the Ben & Jerrys Café are particular             highlights, but just hanging out watching TV and yarning about the days events was wonderful. (Again         this is a wee bit of a cheat seeing as I moved in with you September 2012 buuut whatever … this is             my blog after all!)   

·         Suzy D, Luke’s mum and one of the most welcoming and accomplished women I have met. 

·         Luke, the best teacher I have ever had with unlimited patience and a wicked sense of humour. 

·         Amy, Toby, Charlotte, Cameron, Nena, James, Jasper & Jonny aka the McKinlay  Friday night tennis             crew/ houseparty hustlers/ dirt disco-ers/ races ravers/ rodeo revellers … We shared far too many             Bundy’s and had more fun than you can shake a stick at.  Who knew that you could meet so many                 likeminded wonderful people when living in the middle of nowhere?!

·         Clare & Lou from Glassy’s Hat Pub … FYI guys I LET you win at Monopoly Deal :D

·         Glassy’s Hat Patrons.  Too many to mention individually, but what a bunch of ragamuffins they are,             admittedly some are more tolerable than others and one I am particularly fond of…

Again the above is by no means an extensive list of the fantastic people I have met.  Now this sub title also included “Characterful Animals” so I must not forget the following;

·         Yum Yum, the fluffiest, craziest cat you would ever dream to meet who had an uncanny ability to                 go all Matrix on you and climb the walls.

·         Heidi the Party Cow, totally spoilt with love and leftovers this poddy calf knows how to party, has a             penchant for headwear and can skull a stubby faster than a thirsty cowboy. 

·         Pumpkin & Toffee, mums two beautiful kittens.  Snuggling with them whilst I was back home was just            gorgeous. 


So that’s my top three for 2013.  Hanging out with family, getting to see out a lifelong dream and meeting a wealth of wonderful people along the way.  Not bad really, not bad at all…

Mum
26/12/2013 07:01:33 pm

Indeed a fantastic year so proud of you and all your accomplishments. LOTS MORE TO COME !!! take care love you always xxxxzzzz

Reply
kay
12/2/2014 10:54:03 am

Great too see living life to the full and not doing the mundane things you would be doing if stayed

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All