Thursday 30th May – day 17

Today we all headed out to the nearest “town”, Cloncurry.  It is about a two hour drive from the station, and is where we have to go each week to get all the food shopping.  It is also the closest place to go clothes shopping with a total of two women’s clothes stores, which sell mostly jeans, check shits and cowboy boots.  I desperately needed to buy a dress to wear to the Cloncurry races this coming Saturday; having left all my nice clothes back in Melbourne, expecting Camp drafts (Rodeo’s)  and cowboys not races and fancy frocks.  Unfortunately the selection was in ‘Curry was not the best so started to get a bit worried that Cinderella may not get to go to the races L

Once we got back from town we headed out to feed the weaners some hay and weaner feed.  It’s been pretty tough for them being off their mothers milk and we seem to lose a calf a day at the moment.  It’s sad to see them die but we are doing all we can to feed them up and get them stronger.  Unfortunately with the crappy price of beef it’s just not cost effective to try and rearing them – there also just aren’t enough of us here to spend the time doing that. 

One thing I did forget to mention about yesterday was that we went spotlight shooting  that night.  I know kangaroos are the national symbol and all, but they are a bit of a pest; breaking through fences and eating what little grass there is.  We were also out looking for any wild pigs or cats who are a bit of a pest out here too.  Clearly the Roos got the memo that we were out shooting as there were hardly any about!  I myself didn’t shoot any, I’ve never really shot a gun like that before and was a bit hesitant about shooting at the Kangaroos; didn’t want to miss the vital organs and cause a non fatal shot.  Also didn’t want to shoot myself in the foot or anything!!  Once we were finished with spotlighting we came back to the house and lined up some tin cans to shoot at – I surprised myself, I’m not a bad shot!! Sooo, boys beware, if I don’t manage to castrate you I’m a pretty decent shot!  :P  

Friday 31st May – day 18

Today we headed out to Nulgra paddock to check for any holes in the boundary fences.  We will be mustering the cattle in this paddock next week so needed to check the fences to make sure that we don’t get any escapees!  We found a few holes to fix up and loose wires to tighten.  It can get a bit frustrating at times when myself and Nena are struggling to remember all the knots and how to use the wire strainers properly, then Luke strolls over and does it all standing on one foot and using his pinkie finger!  I guess he has had a lot more practice than we have.  After lunch we continued the fence check in 4 mile paddock.

As it is Friday we headed out to Friday night tennis in Mckinlay, which is more just a chance to sink a few stubbies than actually play tennis.  One of the girls from another station bought me some of her dresses to try on for the races tomorrow.  Thankfully they fitted so Cindy gets to go to the races!


Saturday 1st June – day 19

What a great day, was fab seeing everyone all dolled up and I very much enjoyed having a ‘few’ glasses of vino to drink!  Brilliant day and night all round and eventually rolled in at about 3am.  Don’t think any of us felt especially brilliant the next morning though!   Took a few photos from the day, but gave up taking photos by the evening as was too busy having fun!
Sunday 2nd June – day 20

Bit of a wipe out – spent the day in joggers watching TV and recovering from last night’s misadventures! 

Monday 3rd June – day 21

Myself and Nena headed out for the first time on our own to do the water run.  It takes around 3 and a half hours in total to go around all the paddocks, check the water tanks and fill up empty Lick tubs.  We managed to get all the way around without getting lost! :D  Woop!  After lunch we re-filled the diesel tanks, I think I’m going to smell like a petrol station for the next couple of days.  We also went to check on the weeners and gave them some more hay and weener food.  Had a bit of a Jeremy Beadle moment whilst opening one of the gates to the weener pens;  Breanna (one of the kids from the family who are visiting) got out of the car to open up the gate, apparently the gates at their farm open either way. Sadly ours don’t, so as she went swinging the gate open it bounced back and whacked her in the head, even knocked her over… I know I shouldn't laugh at a kid getting whacked in the head and falling over but man it was funny (and it still makes me laugh out loud just thinking about it)  If only there had been a camera rolling at the time, I’d be £200 richer.  I did stop laughing long enough to make sure that Breanna was ok, and bless her she took the knock well. 

Got some pictures from this mornings water run – them there are some hungry cows! 

Jay
2/6/2013 10:18:06 pm

I am loving these updates!! You are having a ball! I am glad Cindy got to go to the races!

Reply
Mum
3/6/2013 05:47:07 am

fantastic Cinders so glad you are enjoying yourself. How nice that someone lent you a posh frock good to have people like that around. Can understand the need for roo control but confess I'm glad you didn't shoot any. Your Blogg is great keep it coming! loads of love xxxxxzzzzz

Reply
kay
5/6/2013 10:57:57 am

Wondering if you might end up winning a teddy at a fair with your shooting skills! Pleased you got a dress and liked Luke in the heels. Hope you choose wisely at races & got a win.

Reply
Gemma
7/6/2013 03:54:40 pm

Kay, no luck with the horses I am afraid. Had a great day out though. Looks like you have been out and about lots with your Luke, loving all your photos!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All