Day 9 Wednesday

Couldn't muster today; the rain had cleared up but because of yesterdays rain the cattle didn’t need to come in to drink so they were scattered all over the place.  Instead we fixed another tyre and spent most of the day fixing fences.  Man I hate barbed wire, that stuff is evil!

Day 10 Thursday

This morning we headed out to do the water run.  The names of the paddocks are finally starting to stick, and I think I am starting to remember the various routes to the troughs and lick tubs.  When we got back there was just enough time to grab some lunch before two gentlemen arrived from The Australian (one of the national newspapers).  They were here to do a story about the seriousness of the drought in the Queensland outback.  I've hinted in a few of my posts about the lack of water and dry conditions, but haven’t really touched on just how bad it really is (mostly out of respect to the guy who runs the place, and not wanting to get too grizly with the details)… however I think when you read the article and see the photos you will get a fair idea of conditions out here. .. To sum it up the reality is that there is little to no grass for the cattle to eat.  Wet cows (cows with calves who are still feeding off them) have been hit the hardest, trying to sustain a calf on minimal food has resulted in many of the cows looking like a bag of bones.  In particularly bad cases cows become so exhausted they lay down and can’t get back up.  If we find them in time, we can use the loader, and some chains to try and pick them up and put them back on their feet (see photos in the article).  If they can stand then they should be strong enough to survive, however if the cow cannot stand then the most humane thing to do it euthanize it which is done by a single bullet in the brain.  Sadly it is not always possible for us to find the cow to try and save it, and so we often come across newly deceased cows.  I’ve never been a fan of crows anyway, but the ones out here are especially viscous; they peck at cattle that are too weak to move away from them – and normally start by pecking the cows eyes out.  Although it is not nice having to euthanize a cow, it is by far the quickest and less painful end.  Since I have been here we have had to ‘pick up’ 3 cows, of which only one was able to stand and walk away.  Another problem with low water levels in the reservoirs is that it leaves the edges of the reservoir exposed and very boggy.  Thirsty cattle come in to drink and get stuck and become distressed trying to get out.  We check the dams on a daily basis to try and make sure that we get to bogged cattle asap (by putting a chain around their neck and pulling them out using a truck), however again the survival rate of bogged cattle is pretty low because the cattle just aren't strong enough to pull through.  On my first night here a cow had to be shot after getting bogged in…. Welcome to the real outback.

Anyway sorry for getting a bit graphic but I thought I should explain a bit about the information in the news article.  It is not all doom and gloom, yes there are some cattle which are in pretty bad shape, but for those we are doing what we can with food supplements (the ‘lick’ I talk about) which helps the cattle get as much nutrient out of the food they do eat and making sure that there are no leaks in any of the water pipes and troughs.  I should also note that for every cow in a poor state there are also lots of cows that are far healthier.

Here is the link to the online article;

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/galleries/gallery-e6frg8zf-1226649992215


Day 11 Friday

Time to muster more cows.  This time we rounded up all the cows and calves from two paddocks named Nora Creek and Booroma…  These paddocks surround the house, so felt a little bit more familiar (until I got stuck in thick Gudgiee Trees and prickle bushes!) and was not as daunting as the first time we mustered.  Haven’t had the chance to learn how to ride a motorbike yet, so I was out on the quadbike again.  Something to remember in future …. PUT SUNCREAM ON HANDS!  I now have very tanned hands, and white arms!  Ooops, will have to wear gloves for a while to give my arms time brown up!!

Whilst out mustering I came across a small calf bogged down in a reservoir.  I did my best trying to pull him out by his tail but ended up knee deep in the bog myself!!  Thankfully Nena arrived at that point to help me out, we then managed to get a rope around the calf’s head and pull him out, although again I ended up knee deep and covered in mud… worth it to see the calf walk away – and hey can’t knock a free bush mud facial!  It would have made a great photo, however we were both so caked in mud we would have ruined the camera by touching it!

As it is Friday we dragged our tired butts out to Friday night tennis in McKinlay.  It’s a good chance to meet other people who work out on stations in the area and to have a bit of fun playing tennis – the downside is that as it is now ‘winter’ it gets bloody cold at night!!  Who would have thought I’d be shivering in the outback in jeans, boots, long sleeve T-shirt, jumper, jacket and a scarf!!!  I think next week I will take a thermos flask with some tea in it – I’ll just have to hide it in the car (as Friday night tennis is very much a soft drink free evening!)

Saturday 25th May; Day 12

Front page news!!  The story about Colwell made the front page of The Australian– and I’m in one of the pictures!  Although it’s not much to get excited about given the context of the photo which is of myself and Luke trying to stand a cow up, who was just too weak and had to be put down. ..

Anyway ..

We picked up a few extra helpers at last nights Tennis, so there were plenty of people to help draft (sort) the cattle today – it’s amazing how much easier it is with just a few more people!  I branded my first calf, and got to see how they castrate the Micky’s (baby male calves), ear marking (cutting a bit of the ears out to help with identifying cattle) and also how they remove cow horns.  It’s all a bit bloody and so not for the faint hearted.  I can’t say it doesn't hurt the calves, but it do doesn't take long for them to get back up and running around like nothing happened.  I’d be ok with doing the castrating (drawing on my feminist fantasies) and ear marking, but removing the horns looks pretty scary!! 

It’s been a pretty busy couple of days so haven’t had much time to get the camera out, so sorry for the lack of photos.  I did manage to take a couple of shots showing my view from the quadbike whilst  mustering … couldn't get better photos as no sooner did I pull the camera out than some naughty cows broke off from the mob and started trotting off in the wrong direction!  

Mum
26/5/2013 07:05:43 am

Well what can I say.... my goodness you are certainly living life at the sharp end. You will be able to cope with anything by the time you leave. Its fantastic I am so happy that you took the plunge and went outback. I think your blog is brilliant and a good way to remember it all. loads of love always xxxxxzzz ps. I'm going to look at the newspapr article now xxxx

Reply
kay
27/5/2013 10:53:06 am

Getting really stuck in.you certainly have a way with words.living reading about your life.

Reply
kay
27/5/2013 11:00:55 am

Just read the article. You are a brave lady. Glad you gave the cow a pat.

Reply
Gemma
29/5/2013 07:49:02 pm

Hello - yes getting really stuck in. IT's a bit of a change from sitting behind a desk that's for sure! How are things going at the Council Kay? Please say hello to everyone for me.

Mum, we need to try and organise a chat soon, it's been ages since we last talked. Love you lots xxx

Reply
1/6/2013 01:18:48 am

Pretty confronting re the starving to death & having to shoot them. The side of farming us city slickers just don't think about.

The drought is making the news here, though mainly cos of the decision to open up some national parks to grazing (temporarily).

For those o/s, remember that most of Qld was under water,just 2 years ago. Gemma, was McKinlay and/or your Station flooded?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All