Day 7

Bit of a rest day (phew!) got to have a lie in, did some housework and then spent the afternoon fixing the darn motorbike tyre from the day before.  We also did work on one of the fences on the outskirts of the property.  Not too much more to report on really.  Was nice to have a bit of a more relaxing day and to catch up on some Zzzzz'z.

Day 8

So the plan was to muster today … but the weather was having none of it, and I guess I shouldn't complain seeing as they are in the middle of a very bad drought!  Apparently there is little to no point trying to muster cattle in the rain.  In part because the dirt/mud clogs up your motorbike tyres and also because cattle will not (no matter how much you try to make them) walk into rain!  Can't say I blame them really!  

Before it started to rain too much I did learn how to drive a loader (like a big fork lift/tractor thing) and successfully picked up and deposited a large bale of hay into the holding paddock.  We then sat about waiting to see what the weather would do, it rained on and off and at times reasonably heavily, almost felt like being at home! 

Myself and Nena were then tasked with fixing yet another motorbike tyre… I think we have both decided that we do not have a shining future in fixing tyres.  We tried 3 times to patch the bloody tube to stop the leak, only for the patch to peel off once air was pumped back in …. Luke then had a go, and much to our (secret) satisfaction his patch also came right off.  The only thing we could think that was any different to fixes we’d done in the past few days was the weather … so fifth time lucky we left the glue to dry for a long time before trying to put the patch on, and eureka!  Woop.  Whilst waiting for the glue to dry I learnt how to drive the tractor – this place is like heavy machinery heaven!!  Maybe I have a future as a truckie?! 

That’s about all to report for the last couple of days.  It’s been nice to get a bit of a rest but I am looking forward to getting stuck back into it tomorrow (weather permitting).   Hopefully I will get to give the motorbike a go also! 

mum
22/5/2013 06:31:01 am

good to have a couple of days when life is not quite so full on, Recharged and ready for more now I hope, I am loving the blogg it makes me smile and laugh out loud, its so nice to feel back in the loop again and know some of what you are doing, love you loads xxxxzzz

Reply
kay
22/5/2013 08:33:05 am

So do you have to take a driving test out there? Need some sludge tyres for the bikes can def recommend them though I know only have a push bike.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All