Picture
Although I currently feel like I've been through a cold wash in a top loader, and will probably wake up tomorrow with a bruised nose and some very achy shoulders all I can say is what a fantastic day that was!  Rafting the Tully River with the Raging Thunder crew more than made up for the crappy rainy Cairns weather and the early (5.30 am) start.  Not really sure how to describe the day other than super exhilarating and so much fun!  Cliff jumping, grade 5 rapids, flipping the boat and swallowing half of the Tully whilst swimming through grade 2 rapids pretty much sums up the day.  It also explains why we signed a disclaimer stating the company would not be at all liable for any personal injury or death!  After all, what's life without a little danger to spice things up?!

Anyway got some photos of the day but will put them up another time as right now I am going to take my tired muscles to bed.  I will leave you with a horribly bad joke thanks to Paul the rafting guide (all I can say is thank god most of the people in our boat were not native English speakers!)






How do you tell the sex of a banana?
When you peel a female banana the skin splits into three as it has three skins.  You can tell a male banana as when peeled it splits into four sections, because male bananas have four skins
.









*** Creepy Crawly Update ***
  • 1 large (Cookie size) all black I think (although I didn't fancy getting too close to this fella) hanging out on the lock of a ladies loo - which made for a very swift pee indeed.
  • Also a smaller more spindly looking thing (but still about the size of a 50p) which somehow managed to cling onto me in the raft.  Sadly (for him any way) after spotting him crawl up my leg he went overboard.




Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All