Picture
So tomorrow is the BIG day, time to muster some cattle!  Unlike in Wyoming, this station musters their cattle by motorbike and quad bike, so I spent most of this afternoon tearing around on a quad bike getting used to the way it works.  Loads of fun, although I will admit to being a little hesitant at first as flashes of Ozzy Osbourne’s near death quad bike accident ran through my head.  But lets face it, I am not an aging alcoholic rocker with substance abuse issues, so all went well and I seem to have got the hang of it.  Fingers crossed I will get a chance to learn how to ride a motorbike ready for the next lot of mustering … it looks so very Charlies Angels!  Anyways back on topic, tomorrow we will be mustering cattle from 4 Mile Paddock all the way back to the paddocks near to the house.  Not sure how far that all is but from looking on the map I've been given, I think it will be a full days work chasing cows around in the outback.

As for the morning’s antics Nena and I headed out (unsupervised) to check water troughs and salt lick (a nutrient feed for the cows) to some of the further away paddocks.  We did pretty well finding most of the troughs, although did get a teeny bit lost at one point… again it all looks very similar this red dust and prickly bushes!!  Came across an old disused house at one of the paddocks and had a look around – all very creepy, especially one room that just has a dusty old hat sat on the end of the bed… I will have to get some snaps next time we are out that way, lets hope the hat remains in the same spot, otherwise the place really will freak me out! 




Insect report – none (that I was aware of; other than the creepy albino gecko in my room last night)  In other animal news I got to see lots of Roo’s, Emu (who look rather odd in motion) and some Camels.  Sadly my camera died so only managed to get a few snaps of the camels.  I will do my best to try and get some snaps of us mustering tomorrow. 



Anyways sorry for not getting this post up in ‘real time’, I sacrificed some finer editing and uploading pictures in order to get an early night ready for tomorrow…. Wish me luck.


kay
22/5/2013 08:27:34 am

Amusing as ever. Do you know why the house was left?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All