Picture The art of Goldfish Racing
Hello I am alive!!  Sorry for going dark the last few days – Cairns ended up being a total rainy wash out, so other than the rafting I didn't get up to much. Here is a quick rundown of what has gone on since my last post;
 
  • Goldfish Racing in Cairns
  • Caught a bus to Townsville on Friday, naturally the weather in Cairns picked up!
  • Spent 4 nights in Suzy’s beautiful home (mother of the guy whose Station I will be working at)
  • Met little Gemma who is also staying at Suzy’s, is from the UK and who has just got back from 2 months working on a Station managed by one of Suzy’s daughters.
  • Saturday the two Gemmas hit Townsville and the Mad Cow bar pretty hard – in the process met some AFL coaches who turned out to be a riot (and pretty easy on the eyes too!)
  • Sunday rolled in at 4am, so thank god I changed my bus to leave 7am on Tuesday rather than leaving the same day.
  • Tuesday took a 10 hours 45 minutes bus trip inland to Cloncurry and then another 1.5 hours to the Station which is just outside of the town of McKinlay.  (Famous for the Crocodile Dundee hotel, as featured in the film)
  • Baptism of fire at the Station L

So today, was my first day at the Station.  It started off fairly slowly watching Luke and the other girl here (Nena) fix the loader (a truck type thing), which blew a hydraulics hose the other day…  apparently the loader is a piece of equipment that is very similar to Ikea furniture – there’s always some extra bits left over once put (back)together!  Unconcerned by a few extra bolts we shifted some heavy pallets and then myself and Nena headed out to fill up the salt lick toughs and check on the water holes...  I wonder if I will ever get my bearings out here, I thought I was good with directions but one piece of red dust and a bush looks very much like all the other bits of red and bush out here!

After lunch I got to fulfil one of my dreams to drive a really big truck really slowly, it was fab maybe I was a trucker in a past life?  Whilst I drove the others rolled out a water pipe that will help pump water into one of the biggest reservoirs at the Station.  The whole of Queensland is in severe drought so conditions have been very tough for the poor ol’ cows out here, and the water level is seriously low in the reservoir so this was a pretty important job. 

Unfortunately I forgot to take my camera with me so I didn't get a chance to take any snaps of all our hard work today – I will do my best to remember to take it with me tomorrow.  I have taken a couple of photos of the station at sunset for you to browse... but annoyingly they won't load right now - but you can see them on my FB page. 

Insect alert – saw lots of very red bummed red back spiders whilst loading up the water pipes eep.  :S, also not strictly an insect but there are LOTS of lizard things in the house! 

kay
15/5/2013 05:37:28 am

Great to hear how things going. Live the picture of you on the horse

Reply
16/5/2013 01:42:38 pm

Good to see you online & having fun! Glad there's another girl up there as well to keep you company :)

Reply
Gemma
19/5/2013 06:42:53 pm

Hey Peter - all's going well so far. Say howdy to everyone for me. Can't say I miss work too much right now, however I do really miss my morning train snooze! Hope things are all ok at Bayside

Reply
Nik
17/5/2013 04:18:16 am

Love lizards. Not sure about big red bummed spiders. Might want to avoid them eh ;-) Xx

Reply
Mum
18/5/2013 04:30:48 am

Looks spectacular out there loads of space and big skys. Glad you are enjoying it even if it is hard work. The pictures are great are those Camels or Dromadarys or something else?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About me

    I've been on the road travelling for just over two years now, and what a fantastic couple of years it has been!  I'm now about to embark on a new outback adventure - working on a cattle Station in the middle of nowhere Australia!  Seeing as I won't have mobile phone reception I thought this would be a great way of keeping in contact and documenting my experiences.

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All